From Scrooged


FRANK:        It’s a night you’ve gotta party hearty, Marty.
Check this out. Whoa-ho! Don’t be so mean. Ugh!
Look!
[points to mistletoe]

There’s a rule, a tradition which says…
I have to kiss this girl.
She’s just upholding the law. It’s a federal law, actually.
Boy, that was very good. But you know what?
It wasn’t great. There’s only been one “great”.
There is a girl…
that I wish I were with tonight.
It’s a girl that I loved a long time ago.
A girl that I still love.
It’s not too late, is it?
Claire, you remember the Kama Sutra, page   ?
Our legs are like this. You circle me, chanting, before we begin?
It was practically impossible.
Tonight, we could do this without serious physical damage.

CLAIRE:        I need to get to lBC in 5 minutes.
CABBIE GHOST:    Which floor?

FRANK:        Deck the halls with boughs of holly
Tis the season to be jolly
Don we now our gay apparel
Troll the ancient yuletide carol
We should be taping this.
How did that happen?
That happened because it’s Christmas Eve.
I’m not crazy. It’s Christmas Eve.
It’s the one night when we all act a little nicer.
We…we smile a little easier. We…we…share a little more.
For a couple of hours we are the people we always hoped we would be.
It’s really a miracle because it happens every Christmas Eve.
And if you waste that miracle, you’re gonna burn for it. I know.
You have to do something. You have to take a chance and get involved.
There are people that don’t have enough to eat and who are cold.
You can go and greet these people.
Take an old blanket out to them or make a sandwich and say, “Here.”
“I get it now.”
And if you give, then it can happen, the miracle can happen to you.
Not just the poor and hungry, Everybody’s gotta have this miracle!
It can happen tonight for you all!
If you believe in this pure thing,
the miracle will happen and you’ll want it again tomorrow!
You won’t say, “Christmas is once a year and it’s a fraud.” It’s not!
It can happen every day! You’ve just got to want that feeling!
You’ll want it every day! It can happen to you!
I believe in it now.
I believe it’s gonna happen to me, now. I’m ready for it!
And it’s great. It’s a good feeling.
It’s better than I’ve felt in a long time.
I’m ready.
Have a Merry Christmas. Everybody.
Calvin!
Did I forget something, big man?

CALVIN:        God bless us, every one.

CLAIRE:        Lumpy! Lumpy, no!

FRANK:        Oh! Feels like boating a marlin.
Claire, the whole world. The whole world, Claire.
And they lived happily ever after.
Think of your fellow man
Lend him a helping hand
Put a little love in your heart
You see it’s getting late, so please don’t hesitate
Put a little love in your heart
And the world…
Will be a better place
And the world will be a better place for you…
And me
Just wait and see…
Another day goes by…
And still the children cry
Put a little love in your heart
And your world will be a better place
And the world…
Will be a better place…
For you and me
So just you wait and see…
Another day goes by and still the children cry
Put a little love in your heart
Put a little love in your heart
Put a little love in your heart…
Feed me, Seymour. Feed me!
Let’s hear it from all you out there.
You know the words, come on!
Let’s hear it from this side.
That’s no good. Let’s try the other side.
How about just the men? Come on.
All right. The real men.
All right. The women this time.
No, the real women. You know who you are.
OK, you! YOU making all the noise!
My brother, the King of Christmas…

We watched this again the day after Thanksgiving. It has such fantastic slapstick…

The story’s an oldie but a goodie, and the idea of stapling antlers on a mouse…anyway, just see it; you’ll be glad you did.

